The Rogersville Review
Obituaries Obituaries Archive
Our History Get Your Copy
Subscribe Today! Learn More About:
Search: Recent News Archives or try Advanced Search
Scattered Clouds Scattered Clouds
77 °
Click For Extended Forecast

April 24, 2014

choose text size bigger text smaller text

2012 Election - Liquor referendums pass - Obama re-elected

Published: 11:00 PM, 11/06/2012 Last updated: 12:45 PM, 11/09/2012

Source: The Rogersville Review

By Bill Grubb
News Editor

ROGERSVILLE - Although the ballot included liquor referendums, municipal elections and a presidential race, only 19,020 voters, approximately 53 percent of the county's registered voters, cast their votes in a relatively quiet election.  (Winners in bold text)

Mount Carmel
Liquor by the drink:    
Yes 1,168
No    947

Larry Frost         910
Gary Lawson         805              
 Eugene Christian    409

Alderman (Three)   
L. Paul Hale 1,174
Carl Wolfe 1,121
Wanda Worley-Davidson 1,018

Pete Horton 687                   
Denise Russell Livesay 800
Richard P. Bewely 660

Church Hill
Liquor by the drink   
Yes 1,341        
No 1,105

Commissioner - Church Hill Inside, Outside and McPheeter's Bend
Vote for two   
Jeff Barrett 1,510
Fred Castle 1,474

Fred Daris Horne 690
Jeret L. Ratliff 308
Dustin W. Smith 804

Alderman (Three)   
Marc Borghetti 550    
Alex Dykes 383
Joe McLain 495

Landon Pruitt 325

Liquor by the drink:      
Yes 708
 No 701

Package stores:      
Yes 707
No 663

City School Board    (Two)
Todd Biggs 1,072
Reed D. Matney 1,056

Mahima Kundu 183

Bulls Gap
Michael Solomon 215
Daniel Parrott 47

Alderman   (Four)
Jimmy Sexton 178
Betsy Shipley 206
Martha Snelson 176
Susan Williams 173

Charles H. Roark 134

While local election results came in by Tuesday's press time for The Rogersville Review, it was early Wednesday morning before President Barack Obama was officially declared the winner of a tightly contested presidential race.
    In Hawkins County former Massachusetts Governor Mitt Romeny, a Republican, received 13,694 votes to the Democratic president's 4,825 votes.  Nationwide, however, it was Obama who took the prize.
    The president won a second term with 60,663,948 popular votes and 303 electoral votes to Romney's 57,822,680 popular votes and 206 electoral votes. As of Thursday, the Florida results were still not included in either man's total.
    In other races, Republican United States Senator Bob Corker won a second term with 1,504,081 votes, of which 13,663 came from Hawkins County.  His nearest rival, Mark Clayton, garnered 704,708 votes across the state and 3,826 in the county.
    Congressman Phil Roe, also a Republican, was re-elected with 180,192 votes in the first district and 13,808 in Hawkins County.  Rival Alan Woodruff received 47,015 in the district and 3,724 in the county.
    State Senator Frank Niceley and State Representative Mike Harrison faced no opposition but each received more than 12,000 complimentary votes in Hawkins County.

Print This Story Print This Story Email This Story Email This Story To A Friend

Subscribe to The Rogersville Review by clicking SUBSCRIBE. Sign up for Breaking News emails from The Rogersville Review by clicking EMAIL ALERTS and inputting your email address next to "Add Me" near the top right corner.

Newspapers In Education EZ-Pay
Newspapers In Education
Newspapers In Education

-Find more businesses on

Attorneys · Automotive · Health Care
Home & Garden · Hotels & Lodging Restaurants
Retail · Recreation · Real Estate & Rentals · Services

Enter your email address to sign up.
Email Address:
Receive special offers from The Rogersville Review.


Local Events Local News Local Sports

View All Galleries

Proudly Serving Hawkins County, Tennessee Since 1885
316 E. Main Street, Rogersville, Tennessee 37857
(423) 272-7422

Terms of Use - Privacy Policy

Copyright © 2014, The Rogersville Review, All Rights Reserved.